Journal Fetish

Blank books, journals, sketchbooks, notebooks, whatever you want to call them… I want them. ALL. It’s a little bit of an obsession really. I swear it started in the 5th grade when the teacher announced we’d be making our own books. We each started out with a clean, blank book and we could put whatever our hearts desired in it. Some wrote stories. Others drew pictures. And for some reason, I couldn’t figure out what the hell I wanted to put in my book. But I was as excited as ever, despite sitting there staring at empty pages for hours. It didn’t occur to me then but now I realize the reason why I love journals so much is because they’re clean slates waiting for beautiful things to happen. I get giddy at the thought of its endless possibilities and the potential great ideas it will house. There’s a whole row on my bookcase of blank books that can attest to this.

My Sewbie business partner, Neil, put me up on the Moleskine book for Evernote after he yelled at me for not using Evernote often enough and I explained that I preferred writing my notes in an actual, physical book. Ta-da! The answer? The Evernote Smart Notebook. It satisfies my journal obsession and his techie tendencies. Proof that both sides of the brain can work together in harmony.

Leave a Reply

