Upcycled: Card Catalogs

I grew up with a love affair for books and going to the library where hunting via Dewey Decimal System was part of the discovery process. The above picture was taken a few months ago at a little vintage shop during a trip to Richmond, VA.     It never fails, every time I see a card catalog, a cozy, comforting trip down memory lane is inevitable. Now that these are obsolete, all I want to do is preserve the nostalgic beauty this piece of furniture brings. While I currently don’t have the space for one, I’m still obsessed with finding the perfect card catalog for…           my jewelry. Yup. I’ve got big plans to upcycle one of these joints and make it a multi-drawer wonderland of adornments. I want to organize the hell out of my rings, go crazy coordinating bracelets by style, and get happy hanging necklaces on ornate knobs.

Apparently, I’m not the only one in love with the unique style a card catalog can bring to a home. Check out these clever uses and get inspired.

Bar (via Apartment Therapy)

Card Catalog Bar

Credenza (via Oakland Avenue)

Coffee Table (via Repurposed Vintage Finds)

Everything Cabinet (via Small Notebook)

Art Supply Organizer (via Astroluc)

Kitchen Island (via Home Jelly)

Tie Storage (via Speak’s Letter Press)

Desk (via Design Sponge)

Botanical Display Table (via Apartment Therapy)

Shelving (via Apartment Therapy)

Do you have any other ideas for repurposing a card catalog? Feel free to share. And let me know if you’ve spotted any amazing ones…the treasure hunt continues!

8 responses to “Upcycled: Card Catalogs

  1. Reblogged this on HELP EMPTY MY CLOSET and commented:
    If you watched the movie J Edgar, you’d remember the card catalog scene. It seems we can have our own re-purposed card catalog cabinet at home too. Check this out!

  2. I really love the kitchen island card catalog! That’s such a great idea!

  3. I’ve always admired the card catalogs in libraries! Some nifty ideas here 🙂 I really love the second to last image!

  4. Turn a card catalog into a table? Those looks so nice, I want one!

  5. Pingback: Side Dish | sewbie

Leave a Reply

