Destination: Flea Market

As we’re getting closer and closer to launching Sewbie.com‘s beta version, I’m constantly on the lookout for emerging indie designers and vintage sellers to apart of our vendor community. One of my favorite places to scout is a flea market, especially in the summertime. They’re usually packed with awesome vintage finds and handmade jewelry and some of the nicest people selling them. And aside from fashion-related stuff, I always feel like I’ll get lucky and find something crazy like an original copy of the Emancipation Proclamation hand-written by Abe Lincoln himself stuck underneath the drawer of an antique armoire. Yeah, I’m a bit of an Antiques Roadshow junkie, so much that I was watching it at the gym the other day. T’was a nice, soothing compliment to my struggling on the dreadmill treadmill. Anyway, I’m planning on doing some flea market scouting in the next couple weeks. Brooklyn Flea, Meadowlands Flea Market, and some smaller ones in Manhattan are on my list. Please pass on some other flea market recommendations – doesn’t have to be local to NY/NJ…whenever I travel I always try to hit one up on my trip. It’d be great to compile a list from all over the country. Below are some pix from the Melrose trading post in LA from last year. I scored some necklaces and the bf copped himself a varsity jacket.

I love small vintage boxes to put jewelry and trinkets in.

This vintage dealer's boot game was SERIOUS.

Hoping our sewbie sellers will have boots as cute as these!

These were letters from some kind of printing press. Loved the worn look they had but didn't have a project in mind for em so I didn't buy : (

You'll always find weird stuff at flea markets. Like this doll that was creepily staring at me.

Me digging for gold.

Looking at these pics again, I’m reminded how pretty images at flea markets can be because all the vintage goods sure make amazing subjects and backdrops. They just don’t make stuff like they used to. Again, feel free to pass on some of your favorite flea markets for my destination list and share stories about your fab flea market finds!

2 responses to “Destination: Flea Market

  1. You’re so lucky you get to watch Antiques Roadshow at the gym.. all we have is spanish telenovelas. :/

    Anyway, all those things look awesome. No wonder it’s hard to find good vintage boots… he/she took them all! I’m a tad jealous. πŸ™‚

    – Grace

    P.S. When I was younger, I remember being scared of all 4 of Gale’s creepy ‘my size’ dolls – I still don’t know how she slept with all of them.

    • Let me guess, you go to a gym in the heights? lol. I imagine telenovelas would be very popular there!

      Yes, this vendor had sooo many boots. You have great stuff though, like I said I’d love to help you thrift. The hunt itself is a thrill.

      lol we’ll have to bring up that doll story when we get together with Gale! The ones with the eyes that open and close freak me out because it reminds me of that Twilight Zone episode. But then again, I did have one of my own…four is crazy!

Leave a Reply

